Thread: Id like to open a bar

Rides

Id like to open a bar

so whats involved?

anyone ever done this?

what do i need? its all a bit of a dream at the moment but something id love to do i dont want to delve into to much information on the theame because there isnt that many about so id hate to ave someone pinch my idea!

Rides
    youll need a load of cash to lease a bar or buy one (or a property with the correct planning)

Then you need money to get it going (equipment, beer, liquors, spirits, tv's music stuff, band or dj stuff.) So that would probably need a business plan and a hefty loan.

Then employees

I think the first is find a location, then get a business plan sorted

Rides
    1st: Licence
    2nd: Location
    3rd: Business Plan
    4th: Supplier (these vary so much, try and differ from your local places)
    5th: Advertise for Staff
    6th: Be ready for 5am-2am days!
    7th: Have fun!

Rides
    Its not that much fun , very demanding as well. when i was a student i use to work in bars and hotel bars i hated it in the end but it all depends on what sort of bar you go for.

Rides
    Running a bar is a life, not a job. You can start at 10am recovering and restocking from the night before and still be there at 3am cashing up. Added to the long hours, profit margins aren't actually that great on beer so you could end up working for less than minimum wage. I know a couple of folks who have run bars and ended up jacking it in for a job as a shop assistant as the stress was just too much.

Rides
    Quote Originally Posted by Stu View Post
    Running a bar is a life, not a job. You can start at 10am recovering and restocking from the night before and still be there at 3am cashing up. Added to the long hours, profit margins aren't actually that great on beer so you could end up working for less than minimum wage. I know a couple of folks who have run bars and ended up jacking it in for a job as a shop assistant as the stress was just too much.