Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: S13 - Saving a Drift Missile

Rides

S13 - Rocket Bunny RB25

Hi All,
    Thought I would start a thread on here so I can keep tabs on the progress of work on my S13. I will start by saying I am an IT Technician will a basic understanding of cars, by no means a mechanic!
    Starting from the pictures on facebook, I could see it was a drift missile and had been built for just that. The spec I received was:
    1993 200sx
    Manual
    93xxx miles
    Rocket bunny front bumper, spoiler and skirts
    Welded diff
    Stripped interior
    Sleepy eyes
    Possible headgasket failure

From the pictures on facebook it looked okay, so I asked him for a price and more pictures. The pics I got from him showed it was a little rougher than I had imagined, but not too far gone. It has been painted in the baby blue matte finish you will see later, and it was a bit hacked together. No disrespect to the previous owner at all, it was built for purpose, not a show car.

Times and a price was agreed and a friend of mine when and collected it whilst I was away for a week. Longest week wait ever! Once I got back, I went to see it as soon as I could and took these pictures:

My plan all along has been to pull the motor in favour something a little more special. Original plans have since changed but all that much. I managed to move the car into a workshop where I could work on it out of the elements. First job on the list was a compression test… didn’t go well!

Not the worst news in the world as I wanted to pull it anyway but I wanted to keep it moving under its own steam ideally. The car had a real issue with starting too (which I posted about) so decided that the engine is coming out regardless! Current plans are:

RB25DET Swap – switchable maps. End power 350/450 maps
    Full strip down and respray
    Chase Rust remove/repair
    Full rocketbunny kit
    Half cage
    Replace welded diff