Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: S14a backfiring like an ak47

  1. #1
    Member richie s14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    essex
    Posts
    258
    Rides
    0

    S14a backfiring like an ak47

    Car drives fine until you floor it then all hell breaks loose! Backfires really loud several times. Ive replaced coilpacks and coilpack loom with brand new ones and fitted a new lamda sensor which has made no differance. Car is a hdev stage 1. Anyone had this issue before or have any ideas what it could be?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    watford
    Posts
    412
    Rides
    0
    insert sarky boost leak comment here

  3. #3
    Guest
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    1,469
    Rides
    0
    Have you tried new plugs and gapping them down to 0.8mm-0.9mm

  4. #4
    Member richie s14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    essex
    Posts
    258
    Rides
    0
    The plugs are fairly new only a couple of hundred miles on them, and there ngk bkr7eix iridiums. I will try a boost leak test but intercooler is fairly new and i used samco hoses with milkalor clamps and all looks fine.

  5. #5
    5 drive fun sideways14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    In cloud Cucold land
    Posts
    34,235
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeyrs View Post
    insert sarky boost leak comment here
    b
    o
    o
    s
    t

    w
    e
    e
    k

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    watford
    Posts
    412
    Rides
    0
    i had a boost leak once and it genuinely sounded like anti lag. i loved it but the car didnt

  7. #7
    Member richie s14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    essex
    Posts
    258
    Rides
    0
    It must be that then mine sounds like anti lag to. Will pressure test boost pipes the weekend.

  8. #8
    Member ANDY black s13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    erith kent england
    Posts
    6,283
    Rides
    0
    if you still have the soft mushy OE engine mounts the engine movement when you nail it is pulling on the joiners as the 'cooler is solid mounted
    common is hot pipe from turbo joiner comes loose but all joiners can leak tbh,can swap OE mounts for hardrace/nismo or similar

  9. #9
    Member richie s14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    essex
    Posts
    258
    Rides
    0
    Little update, done a boost leak test today and there was no leaks! Would a failing afm cause my car to backfire like crazy on full throttle?

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    watford
    Posts
    412
    Rides
    0
    lambda sensor maybe.

    just read you have a new lambda. could be the cas

  11. #11
    Guest
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Lincoln
    Posts
    462
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeyrs View Post
    lambda sensor maybe.

    just read you have a new lambda. could be the cas
    Would never been the lambda, ecu goes open loop on WOT

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    watford
    Posts
    412
    Rides
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jbsauce View Post
    Would never been the lambda, ecu goes open loop on WOT
    My lambda went shot and everytime i tried to go full boost it backfired like an ak......

  13. #13
    5 drive fun sideways14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    In cloud Cucold land
    Posts
    34,235
    Rides
    0
    Dont go driving past a school with it then, you might get Donald Trump try to attack you.

  14. #14
    Member richie s14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    essex
    Posts
    258
    Rides
    0
    Lol people have been ducking when I go past ��. Found the problem today borrowed my mates afm and the car was instantly better and no back firing ���� Wish i’d Tried that 1st!!!.

  15. #15
    Member richie s14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    essex
    Posts
    258
    Rides
    0
    Does any know where you can still get brand new afm's from? Bought a second hand one off ebay but it has a different plug to mine even though it has come from an s14 ��.

  16. #16
    Guest
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    184
    Rides
    0
    You might not need a new one, have you tried just cleaning the hot wire with electrical contact cleaner, if it's never been cleaned and you have a pod/induction filter it's probably all coked up. Cheers

  17. #17
    Member richie s14a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    essex
    Posts
    258
    Rides
    0
    Yeah tried that mate no joy, have got another second hand one off eBay on its way with correct plug this time!.

  18. #18
    Member WTFIA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    786
    Rides
    0
    I had this on BKR7 iridiums.
    Took me ages to find it as they were brand new and gapped properly, however one of the ends decided to burn up. Checked everything prior to finding them as being the problem, would run perfectly fine at all rev ranges and drive normally until I planted my right foot and put load on the engine, and then backfired and violently shook the car.
    They were the last thing I looked at as they were brand new but had still failed.
    I use BKR8 now as they are designed for running higher engine temps.

  19. #19
    Now with 400bhp....
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    South west
    Posts
    35,546
    Rides
    1
    Check the plugs are tight, I had the same just before a plug fired out of block.
    South west Events and local meet info. See here


    My car on THRLL: http://thrll.com/car/1998-nissan-200sx-12410
    Chris Cooke Photograpy: https://www.facebook.com/ChrisCookePhotography
    1998 Nissan 200sx s14a , 2000 std 5 speed with nismo supercoppermix clutch bn6 Sapphire Blue

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •