Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Red S13 update.

Rides

Red S13 update.

I'm back with me 200SX S13 project. I bought this car 5 years ago and it was 99% rust free, unfortunately 5 years on the coast has eaten it

I've not been active on the forum for a while due to buying my first house and I didn't have internet for a while and I got used to not going on it. I now know what it's like to be skint, I may own an S13 but I've been cycling to work for 3 months as the tax ran out and the MOT which it can't pass as it fails emissions. This is likely due to number 1 cylinder burning oil or a dirty AFM or something.

Since it's been burning oil since I rebuilt the engine 2 or so years ago, I decided to park it up on my drive and I'll rebuild the engine again. I assume I nicked an oil ring on piston installation. I've never damaged a ring before but if you're going to make a mistake you might as well make it on your own car right? I think last time I did a compression test it was slightly down on all cylinders, I might do another test before stripping it down.

Sorry for the ramble, to cut a long story short the car runs perfect and it looks presentable but it needs an engine rebuild and rust removal.

Now onto this morning;

I have hoovered the interior a bit.

I have also cleaned the drivers door shut and fuel flap.

Before

After

If you look closely you can see the rust forming in all the seams

Rides
    I've just washed it. Hopefully today I get chance to polish and wax it.

Before

After

Rides
    What a beauty

Rides
    Thank you, you haven't seen the nearside front strut tower though. Nearly cried when I opened the bonnet this morning. The camera makes it look better than it is too.

Rides
    I have done a compression test which was really bad.